Meet Faith Scimecca

Meet Faith Scimecca

Meet Faith Scimecca

Faith Scimecca – Washington,  DC

 

Who She Is:

Owner of Woodley Park Yoga in Washington D.C.  Authorized level 2 Ashtanga Teacher. Graduated with a B.S. in Accounting and a Masters in Accounting from Miami University of Ohio.

 

How you became an instructor:

I first started taking Asthanga Yoga classes while I was an undergraduate at Miami University of Ohio.  After graduating, I returned to DC and started taking classes at the  Ashtanga Yoga Center (AYC) with David Ingals.  David offered a teacher training course and I took it.  At the completion of the course David asked me if I would like to teach for him, and I agreed to do so.  While I was teaching at AYC I attended a workshop led by Sri K. Pattabhi Jois in New York City during his world tour.  He told me I should come to Mysore, India and study Ashtanga Yoga with him.  A few months later I went to India and took classes for three months at the K Pattabhi Jois Ashtanga Yoga Institute.  It was a wonderful experience and since then I have gone back to India eight times.  On my fourth trip I was authorized by Patthabi and his grandson Sharath as an Ashtanga Teacher and was encouraged by them to open my own studio.

 

What You Teach:

I teach Ashtanga Yoga which is the only type of yoga taught at my studio.  my primary teaching now is Mysore Style, which refers to the way Ashtanga Yoga was taught by Pattabhi Jois in the city of Mysore, India. In Mysore style teaching, each student is taught individually.  He or she is given a one-on-one lesson within a group setting.  This method of teaching is considered appropriate for both experienced practitioners and those new to Asthanga yoga. Students are asked and encouraged to practice daily and to make a month commitment in order to memorize the traditional sequence and develop their personal practice.

 

Where you Teach:

I teach exclusively at my own studio: Woodley Park Yoga.

 

Your Goals:

My goals are to carry on the tradition of Asthanga yoga established by my Guru Pattabhi Jois and now taught by his grandson Sharath and his daughter Saraswathi. By offering Asthanga yoga to as many people as possible, I believe that individuals will become not only healthier and more filled with joy, but also will become more peaceful and caring about their fellow human beings.  My hope is that my studio will become a community of loving and caring people.  Although, it sounds like a cliché, I believe that the world will be a better place as more and more people are exposed to the practice of Asthanga yoga.

 

Favorite Quote:

Practice and all is coming. -K. Pattabhi Jois

 

What Inspires you:

Ashtanga Yoga and my faith in God inspires me every day of my life.

 

Who Inspires You:

I am inspired by Pattabhi Jois, who continued to teach until his death in 2009 at the age of 93. He was a man of boundless energy and love.  His smile was infectious and I can still picture him laughing, never at, but always with his students.  I am proud to be considered in the lineage of students actually taught by him and to carry on his legacy.

 

Meet Faith Scimecca

Meet Faith Scimecca

 

Where To Connect:

You can connect with Faith online at here site or on Facebook. Stay in touch and connect with their incredible studio!

Leave a Reply

